Certification Courses

There are a variety of certifying organizations offering nursing and cardiovascular certification. All information regarding content, eligibility, accreditation of the exam, and other details regarding the available certifications can be obtained directly from the certifying agencies through the websites provided below.

The American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) through their Certification Corporation offers the following nursing certifications:

CCRN – For Critical Care Nurses

PCCN – For Progressive Care Nurses


In addition they offer the following sub-specialty exams:

CMC – Cardiac Medicine Certification

CSC – Cardiac Surgery Certification


The website for The American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) is www.aacn.org


The American Association of Heart Failure Nurses offers a heart failure specific nursing certification earning the credential CHFN (Certified Heart Failure Nurse).  Eligibility requirements include 30 hours of continuing education within the last two (2) years, of which a minimum of 15 hours must be focused on care of patients with heart failure. For more information visit https://www.heartfailurecertification.com/home.php.


The American Nurses Credentialing Center offers a certification for Cardiac-Vascular Nursing.  This exam is ideal for cardiac nurses who are practicing outside the critical care environment.  This exam is endorsed by the American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation, the Preventative Cardiovascular Nurses Association, the Society for Vascular Nursing.  30 hours of continuing education within the last 3 years are required to take the exam.  Information about certification through the American Nurses Credentialing Center can be obtained at http://www.nursecredentialing.org/Cardiac-VascularNursing